James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz have won the 2019 Nobel Prize for Physics.

Canadian-American James Peebles and Swiss scientists Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz on Tuesday won the Nobel Physics Prize for their work in cosmology, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said.

Peebles won one-half of the prize “for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology,” while Mayor and Queloz shared the other half “for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star,” professor Goran Hansson, secretary general of the academy, told a press conference.

Get more stories like this on Twitter

AD: To get thousands of free final year project topics and other project materials sorted by subject to help with your research [click here]

More Stories