NPFL: Akwa United close in on title after thrashing Jigawa Stars

Akwa United defenders Olisah Ndah says couples of missed and questionable officiating are the factors that cost the promise Keepers all important three points against Katsina United.

Akwa United today shot closer to winning a first-ever NPFL championship after they drubbed Jigawa Golden Stars 3-0 at home.

The Uyo club now have 68 points with three rounds of matches to the end of the season.

They only need four points from their remaining matches to be crowned champions.

Striker Charles Atshimene scored his 15th goal of the season with Ubong Friday and Wisdom Fernando also among the goals for ‘The Promise ‘Keepers’.

However, Nasarawa United, Enyimba and Rivers United stayed within striking distance of the champions in waiting with comfortable home wins as well.

Nasarawa United dumped Sunshine Stars 4-0 in Lafia, Enyimba beat MFM FC 2-1, Kano Pillars pipped Abia warriors 1-0, while Rivers United stopped FC Ifeanyiubah 2-0 in Port Harcourt.

NPFL leading scorer Silas Nwankwo scored twice for Nasarawa United against his former club Sunshine Stars to take his haul to an impressive 18 goals.

Plateau United, Heartland and Adamawa United were all held to draws at home.

NPFL Results

Nasarawa United 4 Sunshine Stars 0

Katsina United 2 Dakkada 0

Rivers United 2 FC Ifeanyiubah 0

Akwa United 3 Jigawa Golden Stars 0

Enyimba 2 MFM FC 1

Plateau United 0 Lobi Stars 0

Kano Pillars 1 Abia Warriors 0

Heartland 0 Kwara United 0

Adamawa United 1 Enugu Rangers 1

Warri Wolves 1 Wikki Tourists 0

Get more stories like this on Twitter and Telegram

Recommended Stories