The maiden edition of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) award will hold on Monday, February 19.

Seyi Akinwunmi, first Vice-President of the NFF, said the award was conceived to correct what has been missing.

Speaking at a media briefing on Tuesday, Akinwunmi said Lagos state is the sponsor and host of the award.

He said the awardees will be selected by a committee. The award categories include player of the year, team of the year and coach of the year.

Three members of the 1980 Green Eagles were also shortlisted for the special legends award.

“NFF is correcting the situation of not honouring and recognising Keshi and those who deserve recognition,” Akinwunmi said.

“Doing this now because something is missing and have to be corrected.

“Happy that in Lagos we found a partner. Only Lagos state backing us but others will come in.

“Awardees will be chosen by voting, some will be chosen by committee across board.

“We will learn from CAF award committee and others on how it will be done.

“Governor Akinwumi Ambode has not hidden his desire for Lagos as fusion of sports entertainment. He gave his total support.”

The award categories include:

Player of the year
Coach of the year
Young player of the year
Team of the season
Fair play award
Goal Of The Year
Fans Of The Year
NFF Development award
Order of merit award
Presidential merit award

Get more stories like this on Twitter & Facebook

AD:To get thousands of free final year project topics and materials sorted by subject to help with your research [click here]