NFF emergency committee says ‘Super 8’ must hold

The Nigeria Football Federation Emergency Committee has announced that the Super 8 Tournament of the NNL to produce four teams that will join the twenty NPFL teams for the 2018/2019 Season must go on after a lengthy meeting over the weekend.

The meeting was attended by of all the stakeholders of the NFF, the LMC, the NPFL Clubs, the NNL and NNL Clubs and it’s believed that the NNL was directed to stage its statutory Super 8 to produce the four teams for NPFL.

“I am imploring the various Club Owners and other investors, promoters and facilitators, as well as the administrators of the two Leagues, to see the current situation as a consequence of the special circumstances that we found ourselves and consider the best interest of Nigerian Football.

“Nobody foresaw these special circumstances. Yet, it is only by obeying the rules and regulations, and being guided by global best practice, that we can move forward. Nigerian Football is operating within the international football community, and not an oasis in any desert.

The NFF Emergency Committee endorses the resolution of the expanded meeting that the best eight teams in the NNL should contest the Super 8 Tournament, from which the best four teams will be promoted to the Nigeria Professional Football League for the 2018/2019 Season.” Pinnick said.

Pinnick stressed further that the decision to accept the NPFL proposal of 30th August 2018 to bring an end to the League with fourteen matches remaining, is to allowed the to meet up with the deadline for submission of Country’s representative in the CAF Champions League.

“We are calling on stakeholders to see these decisions as the only way of getting out of the special circumstances and forge ahead.”

The Super 8 Tournament is Will hold in Aba and all participants are expected to arrive the venue on Wednesday, 19th December, and the tournament must be concluded by Sunday, 23rd December.

“The Super 8 Tournament must go ahead with all the teams arriving on or before Wednesday, 19th December. I enjoin all the eight qualified teams to endeavour to be in Aba for this tournament, in order to ensure that the LMC has the names of the four teams promoted from the NNL, and go ahead to conduct its draws for the new season.”

The Committee also directed that the NNL must proceed with the tournament as scheduled with the Clubs that report to Aba while stating that disciplinary action would be taken against those who fail to honour their obligations to participate in the Super 8 and the directives of the NFF.

“At the same time, the League Management Company must make best efforts to ensure that all parameters, processes and procedures are set to commence the new Nigeria Professional Football League season before the first day of January, 2019.”

Gombe United FC, Remo Stars FC, Shooting Stars Sports Club, Bendel Insurance FC, Delta Force FC, Kada Stars FC, Real Stars FC and Kogi United are the teams qualified for the NNL Super 8 Tournament.

Get more stories like this on Twitter and Telegram

Recommended Stories