Leicester City manager Brendan Rodgers has reacted to Wilfred Ndidi’s disallowed goal in the Foxes 2-1 loss to Brighton and Hove Albion on Sunday.
Ndidi thought he had levelled the score at 2-2 after out jumping his markers to nod home a corner.
But his celebration was cut short after his teammate Harvey Barnes was flagged for offside.
And substitute Ademola Lookman’s goal was also disallowed over an offside call also on Barnes.
Rodgers said he could understand the decision to rule out the first goal scored by Lookman but felt that Ndidi’s goal should have stood.
“The first one, I can see a little bit, it was similar to Norwich, the type that comes in, it’s in the middle of the goal, I think the keeper [Robert Sanchez] thinks that Jannik is going to head it and he misses it so it catches him by surprise,” added Rodgers.
“I think he can see the ball but I can maybe see why on that one why Barnsey [Harvey Barnes] is half blocking him.
“But definitely on the second one, the ball comes in Barnes is moving out, everything’s in front of the goalkeeper, he can see it it’s just a great leap and a great header and at no time was he ever blocked from view of the keeper.
“The keeper is six foot five or whatever he is and he’s seen it all the way, it was just a great header, so I think today we just never had the luck on our side with those decisions and I think ultimately that cost us.
“If you watch him, he’s come out earlier on the second one, I think it’s just been unfortunate for him on both occasions but most definitely on the second one.”
And on the penalty awarded to Brighton, Rodgers was left “disappointed” with the decision, positing Leicester defender Jannik Vestergaard was fouled before the ball struck his hand as he was trying to defend a corner.
“Probably like everyone, I think the first one was never a penalty and I was disappointed with the process in terms of how that was given but I think it was clear that it wasn’t a penalty.
“Jannik [Vestergaard] has been fouled, he’s been pulled down and of course his arm is up because he’s been fouled and then the ball heads onto his hand without even looking at it.
“It was a very very harsh decision and like I said the process, the fourth official didn’t see it, the referee had given a corner, the linesman who was quite a way away gave it and then obviously for it not to be looked at by Stuart was disappointing so I didn’t think it was a penalty.”