Daniel Igali returns as president of wrestling federation

Expectedly, former Olympics Gold medallist, Daniel Igali, has been returned unopposed as the National President of Nigeria Wrestling Federation (NWF) at the ongoing National Sports Federation Elections in Abuja.

Igali who was the immediate past NWF President was returned unopposed, although he still polled 12 votes after the 12 eligible voters cast their votes for the current Commissioner of Sports in Bayelsa state.

Igali who won the Olympics Gold medal in Wrestling for his adopted country, Canada has been piloting the affairs of NWF for some time now, has turned the fortunes of Wrestling around by producing two World-rated Wrestlers including Odunayo Adekoroye.

Other former Presidents who returned unopposed in the election holding at the Indoor Sports Hall of the Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja as at the time of this report are Handball Federation-Sam Ocheho; Rugby Federation-Dr. Ademola Areh; Nigeria Golf Federation, Otunba Olusegun Runsewe and Karate Federation of Nigeria, Hon. Silas Agara.

Others are Weightlifting Federation, Dr Ibrahim Abdul; Hockey Federation, Engr. Simon Nkom; Chess Federation, Mohammed Sani and Gymnastics Federation, Prince Kelvin Ehuhuhmunse as well as Judo Federation, Dr Musa Oshodi.

Get more stories like this on Twitter and Telegram

Recommended Stories