Home Opinion

Opinion

South-East, South-West and North will be biggest losers if Nigeria breaks up

The idea of having a near-perfect country out of a ruptured Nigeria is illusory. The composite parts of the country each contribute to the miasma of confusion that Nigeria is. No single entity is responsible for Nigeria’s problems. All the ethnic nationalities are equal shareholders in the failing of the Nigerian enterprise. There is enough blame to go around.
The Executive Secretary, Nigeria Christian Pilgrim Commission (NCPC), Rev. Yakubu Pam, said with fervent prayers by the Saints Nigeria will overcome the security challenges and the deathly COVID-19 pandemic.

The Priest and the President

Let’s go back in time to May 2004, when the lands of Yelwa-Shendam, in Plateau State, had turned crimson. Primitive fury and hatred were unleashed, leading to internecine bloodbath.
As Ugandans celebrated 57 years of independence on Wednesday, Kyadondo East MP Robert Kyagulanyi, alias Bobi Wine, engaged police in a cat and mouse race in Kampala and its suburbs.

Bobi Wine and the Old African Brew

After the presidential election in Uganda, it dawned on me that there are two people in the country who don’t fear President Yoweri Museveni: One is his tailor, and the other is his political rival, Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu, famously called Bobi Wine.
Fredrick Nwabufo

I’m a ‘herdsman’ — all herdsmen are not bandits

Crime has no ethnic face. When criminality is defined according to ethnic origin or religion, social cohesion is threatened. There are people of criminal inclinations in every group, race, place and religion. In fact, we defeat the fight against insecurity if we lend ourselves to ethnic prejudices.
President Muhammadu Buhari, on Friday, said the Federal Government would engage the services of members of the National Youth Service Corps to champion the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals 2030 at the grassroots.2

President Buhari’s New Year broadcast — full text

President Muhammadu Buhari in a speech on New Year’s Day recommits himself to serve the nation, promises to develop Nigerian youths and re-organise the police and the armed Forces to make them proactive.
Fredrick Nwabufo

Social media could end marriage as we know it

Chioma is having troubles with her mother-in-law. I know because she made it headline news on her social media page. She does not share her concerns with the other party in the nuptial contract or with a trained counsellor, but with aliens on social media who are sweating on the treadmill of their own problems and who have no understanding of the situational context.
President Muhammadu Buhari addressing the abducted students in Katsina, December 18th, 2020. Bayo Omoboriowo

President Buhari’s Christmas message to Nigerians — full text

I felicitate with our Christian brothers and sisters in particular and all Nigerians in general on this joyous occasion of Christmas 2020, commemorating the birth of Jesus Christ.
United Nations (UN) has revealed that not less than 110 civilians were killed by Boko Haram in the attack on a rice field in Borno State.

Message from the dead Borno farmers

That the slain Borno farmers did not get military clearance is an inconvenient truth, but the real error of judgement was taking the government at its word. In his inaugural speech on May 29, 2015, President Muhammadu Buhari ordered the military chiefs – the same military chiefs there today – to relocate to the North East, the main theatre in the war on Boko Haram.
President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari’s speech – full text

Fellow Nigerians, It has become necessary for me to address you having heard from many concerned Nigerians and having concluded a meeting with all the Security Chiefs.

#EndSARS: The generation that said ‘Enough’

The poem quoted above: “The Second Coming” by Irish poet William Butler Yeats (1919) is probably one of the most adapted and quoted poems in world literature, and in politics and culture, to describe moments of anxiety, uncertainty and a seeming “slouching towards” chaos and anarchy in any community.
President Muhammadu Buhari at the unveiling of the theme and Logo for Nigeria’s 60th anniversary celebration

[email protected]: We stand on the threshold of history

​Today, we stand on the threshold of history as we formally begin a series of activities commemorating Nigeria’s Diamond Anniversary. The task history has saddled me with today is to proclaim a theme that will keep us united, help us forge ahead and unveil a logo that will form the critical pillars which our 11 month modest commemorative activities would rest on. ​
3. The truce-seeking trip of President Muhammadu Buhari to the Malian capital of Bamako on Thursday ended without a deal to soothe the country’s escalating political crisis.

President Buhari focused on nation building and unity of Nigeria

To state that we live in challenging times is perhaps an understatement and does very little justice in accurately capturing our current realities. Those realities include a world faced with a pandemic the scale of which hasn’t been seen in 100 years. The crisis has crippled economies, destroyed global supply chains and obliterated once productive and viable sectors of the economy.
Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC)

The cesspool of corruption called NDDC

Not a few Nigerians are amused at the theatre of the absurd playing out at the Niger Delta Development Commission. The whole circus show climaxed last Monday when three dramas took place during the House of Representatives Probe Panel of the 20-year-old interventionist agency.
Recall that the N10.594 trillion 2020 Budget passed by the National Assembly was on Tuesday assented to by President Muhammadu Buhari. 4

President Buhari’s speech at signing into law of revised 2020 budget

Speech by His Excellency, Muhammadu Buhari, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria at the signing into law of the Appropriation (Repeal and Amendment) Act, 2020 Presidential Villa, Abuja. Friday, 10TH July, 2019
Femi Adesina, spokesman of President Muhammadu Buhari

Governor Wike vindicates Buharists

It came like a bolt out of the blue early this week, Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, issued an advertisement, which went in a completely different direction compared to what he had always said of President Muhammadu Buhari.

Using coronavirus donations to give charity a bad name

Global response to the outbreak of the Coronavirus in Africa has been remarkable, especially following fears that should the virus take hold, its impact on the continent could be catastrophic.
Hell was almost let loose in front of the national secretariat of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on Thursday as pro- and anti-Oshiomhole protesters clashed in Abuja.

Why APC crisis is good for Nigeria

All Progressives Congress (APC) is on the cusp of an implosion. The crisis in the party has reached a frightening crescendo. It has been a gradual but steady plummet for the party since its 2015 unanticipated triumph. I believe, the APC is in the thrall of a curse – the success curse.
Former United Nations, UN, Secretary-General, Ban Ki-Moon, has described the appointment of Prof Ibrahim Gambari as Chief of Staff to President Muhammadu Buhari as a great asset to Nigeria and Africa ”in a broader sense.”

Agboola Gambari: The challenge of being a Nigerian and public servant

It is tough being a Nigerian. Every aspect of the Nigerian life, from the existential to the political is charged with presumptions and assumptions and suspicion. Buying anything on the street attracts deep anxiety; appointing anyone to any position draws deep skepticism. And all these are to be expected in a state whose foundation was laid on historical animosity and current distrust.g
President of the Nigerian Senate, Ahmad Lawan, has described the late Buhari’s Chief of Staff, Mallam Abba Kyari, as an experienced lawyer and banker.

Aisha Abba Kyari: My daddy, my best friend

On 17th April, 2020, my world came crashing down and my heart shattered into a billion pieces. Upon receiving the news of my father’s passing, I immediately felt the most excruciating pain – a pain I would not wish on my worst enemy. My biggest fear in the world had materialised.

My coronavirus anecdotes and the dangers ahead

This is a piece around and about what I have seen about Coronavirus in Nigeria, from a sociological perspective, and not a report of any pathogenic experience. It has been more than a month since the Federal Government placed Lagos and Ogun states, and the Federal Capital Territory on a lockdown on account of the spread of COVID-19 in those three parts of the country.
Abdallah el-Kurebe

How I tested positive for coronavirus

As a science journalist and following the outbreak of Novel Coronavirus, I always took precautionary measures to ensure I did not contract the dreaded disease.
Atiku Abubakar, presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has again accused President Muhammadu Buhari of clamping down on the judiciary.

How to pull Nigeria from the brink

On Monday, April 27, 2020, British oil and gas giant, BP, became the latest in a growing number of energy firms to declare a massive quarterly loss. Their loss was in the region of $4.4 billion dollars. Bear in mind that this was a conglomerate that posted a $2.6 billion profit in the corresponding quarter of 2019.

Recent Stories

Newsmen report that the meeting is being presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja, on Wednesday.

President Buhari urged to be ruthless with bandits

Against the backdrop of rising murders and kidnappings in the country, the Global Peace and Life Rescue Initiative (GOPRI) has implored President Muhammadu Buhari to be ruthless with bandits in order to serve as a deterrent to others.
The Department of State Services (DSS) has denied arresting Salihu Tanko-Yakasai, a media aide of Governor Abdullahi Ganduje who demanded for President Muhammadu Buhari’s resignation over his failure to handle insecurity in the country.

DSS: Why we arrested Kano governor’s ex-aide

“This is to confirm that Salihu Tanko-Yakasai is with the DSS and he is being investigated over issues beyond the expression of opinions in the social media as wrongly alleged by sections of the public,’’ he stated.
Okezie Ikpeazu

Abia governor: Eziukwu cemetery road’ll be recovered under my watch

Governor Okezie Ikpeazu has assured that the on-going Eziukwu Cemetery Road which has been abandoned for close to three decades would be fully recovered under his watch.
Fulham picked up another point in their quest for survival but could have taken all three after bossing a goalless draw with a Palace side devoid of inspiration.

Fulham dominate Palace in Selhurst Park stalemate

Fulham picked up another point in their quest for survival but could have taken all three after bossing a goalless draw with a Palace side devoid of inspiration.
A protester sprays a fire extinguisher as demonstrators clash with riot police officers during a protest against the military coup in Yangon, Myanmar, February 28, 2021. REUTERS-Stringer

At least 18 killed in Myanmar on bloodiest day of protests against coup

Myanmar police fired on protesters around the country on Sunday in the bloodiest day of weeks of demonstrations against a military coup and at least 18 people were killed, the U.N. human rights office said

Most Popular

Developers of the Eko Atlantic City Project have described the need to tackle housing deficit in Nigeria by bridging the Gap with infrastructure project to address the complexity of housing deficit problems adding that this would Reflate on the economy and lead the gateway for emerging markets.

Developers vow to tackle housing deficit to reflate economy for emerging markets

Developers of the Eko Atlantic City Project have described the need to tackle housing deficit in Nigeria by bridging the Gap with infrastructure project to address the complexity of housing deficit problems adding that this would Reflate on the economy and lead the gateway for emerging markets.
Give him the least opportunity and Pastor Enoch Adeboye, General Overseer of the Redeemed Christian Church of God will us part of it to win souls. He urges members of the church to be incurable soul winners; and so is he.

Pastor Adeboye dissociates from prayer points against Fulani herdsmen

Pastor Enoch Adeboye, General Overseer of the Redeemed Christian Church of God (RCCG), has dissociated himself from recent prayer points targeted against Fulani herdsmen and attributed to him on social media.
1. Shola Shoretire made his Manchester United debut in the Premier League win over Newcastle.

Manchester United struggling to manage public image of Shola Shoretire, others

The Manchester Evening News reports United, known for denying access to players at senior and junior level for decades, have been powerless to prevent some of their brightest young things – Shola Shoretire among them – from conducting interviews with Instagrammers.

NCC highlights role of telecoms in Nigeria’s exit from recession

The Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) has highlighted the role played by the telecommunications sector in lifting the country out of recession in the recently released fourth quarter Gross Domestic Product (GDP) figures for the fourth quarter of 2020.
FILE PHOTO - Security guards stand at the gates of what is officially known as a vocational skills education centre in Huocheng County in Xinjiang Uighur Autonomous Region, China September 3, 2018.REUTERS-Thomas Peter-File Photo

Dutch parliament: China’s treatment of Uighurs is genocide

The Dutch parliament on Thursday passed a non-binding motion saying that the treatment of the Uighur Muslim minority in China amounts to genocide, the first such move by a European country.