Home Opinion

Opinion

Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC)

The cesspool of corruption called NDDC

Not a few Nigerians are amused at the theatre of the absurd playing out at the Niger Delta Development Commission. The whole circus show climaxed last Monday when three dramas took place during the House of Representatives Probe Panel of the 20-year-old interventionist agency.
Recall that the N10.594 trillion 2020 Budget passed by the National Assembly was on Tuesday assented to by President Muhammadu Buhari. 4

President Buhari’s speech at signing into law of revised 2020 budget

Speech by His Excellency, Muhammadu Buhari, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria at the signing into law of the Appropriation (Repeal and Amendment) Act, 2020 Presidential Villa, Abuja. Friday, 10TH July, 2019
Femi Adesina, spokesman of President Muhammadu Buhari

Governor Wike vindicates Buharists

It came like a bolt out of the blue early this week, Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, issued an advertisement, which went in a completely different direction compared to what he had always said of President Muhammadu Buhari.

Using coronavirus donations to give charity a bad name

Global response to the outbreak of the Coronavirus in Africa has been remarkable, especially following fears that should the virus take hold, its impact on the continent could be catastrophic.
Hell was almost let loose in front of the national secretariat of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on Thursday as pro- and anti-Oshiomhole protesters clashed in Abuja.

Why APC crisis is good for Nigeria

All Progressives Congress (APC) is on the cusp of an implosion. The crisis in the party has reached a frightening crescendo. It has been a gradual but steady plummet for the party since its 2015 unanticipated triumph. I believe, the APC is in the thrall of a curse – the success curse.
Former United Nations, UN, Secretary-General, Ban Ki-Moon, has described the appointment of Prof Ibrahim Gambari as Chief of Staff to President Muhammadu Buhari as a great asset to Nigeria and Africa ”in a broader sense.”

Agboola Gambari: The challenge of being a Nigerian and public servant

It is tough being a Nigerian. Every aspect of the Nigerian life, from the existential to the political is charged with presumptions and assumptions and suspicion. Buying anything on the street attracts deep anxiety; appointing anyone to any position draws deep skepticism. And all these are to be expected in a state whose foundation was laid on historical animosity and current distrust.g
President of the Nigerian Senate, Ahmad Lawan, has described the late Buhari’s Chief of Staff, Mallam Abba Kyari, as an experienced lawyer and banker.

Aisha Abba Kyari: My daddy, my best friend

On 17th April, 2020, my world came crashing down and my heart shattered into a billion pieces. Upon receiving the news of my father’s passing, I immediately felt the most excruciating pain – a pain I would not wish on my worst enemy. My biggest fear in the world had materialised.

My coronavirus anecdotes and the dangers ahead

This is a piece around and about what I have seen about Coronavirus in Nigeria, from a sociological perspective, and not a report of any pathogenic experience. It has been more than a month since the Federal Government placed Lagos and Ogun states, and the Federal Capital Territory on a lockdown on account of the spread of COVID-19 in those three parts of the country.
Abdallah el-Kurebe

How I tested positive for coronavirus

As a science journalist and following the outbreak of Novel Coronavirus, I always took precautionary measures to ensure I did not contract the dreaded disease.
Atiku Abubakar, presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has again accused President Muhammadu Buhari of clamping down on the judiciary.

How to pull Nigeria from the brink

On Monday, April 27, 2020, British oil and gas giant, BP, became the latest in a growing number of energy firms to declare a massive quarterly loss. Their loss was in the region of $4.4 billion dollars. Bear in mind that this was a conglomerate that posted a $2.6 billion profit in the corresponding quarter of 2019.
President Muhammadu Buhari has again, addressed Nigerians on the efforts of its government to contain the coronavirus pandemic (covid-19) that is ravaging the country 4

President Buhari speaks on lockdown order — full speech

Address By H.E. Muhammadu Buhari, President Of The Federal Republic Of Nigeria On The Cumulative Lockdown Order Of Lagos And Ogun States As Well As The Federal Capital Territory On Covid-19 Pandemic At The State House, Abuja Monday, 27Th April, 2020
As the inks flow in tributes to Abba Kyari by those who loved and despised him, let us not forget that Abba was much misunderstood and often maligned.

Abba Kyari: Tribute to a single minded patriot

As the inks flow in tributes to Abba Kyari by those who loved and despised him, let us not forget that Abba was much misunderstood and often maligned.
Abba Kyari, the late Chief of Staff, The Presidency

Abba Kyari: A bridge-builder in government makes his exit

Mallam Abba Kyari died on Friday 17th of April, 2020 at the age of 67 years. The patriot died the way he would have preferred, at the very front line of service, sadly seized by a plague against which he was defending his beloved fatherland, Nigeria.
A new Chinese coronavirus, a cousin of the SARS virus, has infected hundreds since the outbreak began in Wuhan, China, in December.

Running from God’s prophecies of the coronavirus

When I started editing my book, “Doctor Strangelove” in 2005, I had over thirty chapters to work with. But then the Lord said to me: “Femi, this book will have eighteen chapters.” I took that as a prophecy. I kept my eye on it and was excited when, through editorial work, the book finally shrank to eighteen chapters. I had run with the vision and fulfilled it. Or so I thought.
Abba Kyari, the late Chief of Staff, The Presidency

Now that Abba Kyari is dead

On January 18, 2020, when I first read of the new coronavirus on the BBC website, my heart missed a beat because of what China means to the world. The headline was: “New virus in China ‘will have infected hundreds’.”
President of the Nigerian Senate, Ahmad Lawan, has described the late Buhari’s Chief of Staff, Mallam Abba Kyari, as an experienced lawyer and banker.

President Buhari pays glowing tribute to late Abba Kyari

Mallam Abba Kyari, who died on 17th April, 2020, at the age of 67 from complications caused by the Coronavirus, was a true Nigerian patriot. My loyal friend and compatriot for the last 42 years – and latterly my Chief-of-Staff – he never wavered in his commitment to the betterment of every one of us.
cc

The time to act is now: A letter to African leaders about the coronavirus...

The threats hanging over the African continent with regard to the spread of Covid-19 demand our individual and collective attention. The situation is critical. Yet this is not about mitigating another African humanitarian crisis, but to diffuse the potentially damaging effects of a virus that has shaken the global order and put under question the bases of our living together.

Turning coronavirus tragedy into opportunity for new Nigeria

As many people are now aware, the outbreak of the Novel Coronavirus Disease (COVID–19) in China has rapidly permeated and profoundly changed the world.

Recent Stories

Gov. Ben Ayade of Cross River has directed applicants for the 8,000 automatic jobs to enlist through their respective village heads.

Cross River governor charges security agents to restore order in Calabar

Gov. Ben Ayade of Cross River has charged security agencies in the state to take legitimate actions to halt the spate of arson and carnage witnessed in some parts of Calabar.
President Muhammadu Buhari

#EndSARS: President Buhari sends ministers to home states

President Muhammadu Buhari has sent his ministers to their home states in a move to douse tensions that resulted from the #ENDSARS protests, the crisis that succeeded them and then sell the Federal government’s decision to ensure police reforms and other issues the youths raised.
(FILES) In this file photo taken on April 09, 2019 Brazilian football great Edson Arantes do Nascimento, known as Pele, arrives at Guarulhos International Airport, in Guarulhos some 25km from Sao Paulo, Brazil. – Brazilian football legend Pele “lives reclusive” and “suffers from a form of depression” because he cannot walk normally, his son revealed on Monday at Globoesporte.com. (Photo by NELSON ALMEIDA / AFP)

Pele: Cristiano Ronaldo better than Lionel Messi but i’m greatest player ever

Brazilian legend Pele has claimed that Cristiano Ronaldo is better than Lionel Messi but insisted that he is still the greatest footballer of all time.
As the #EndSARS protests turn violent in different parts of the country, a Methodist Bishop, Dr Sunday Onuoha, has called on the demonstrating youths not to take the laws into their own hands.

#EndSARS: Methodist Bishop sues for peace

As the #EndSARS protests turn violent in different parts of the country, a Methodist Bishop, Dr Sunday Onuoha, has called on the demonstrating youths not to take the laws into their own hands.
Some hoodlums have vandalised the Plateau State Secretariat, the Plateau Publishing Company (PPC), publishers of the Nigerian Standard Newspaper, and the State Water Board, all located in Jos.

Hoodlums vandalise Plateau secretariat, others

Some hoodlums have vandalised the Plateau State Secretariat, the Plateau Publishing Company (PPC), publishers of the Nigerian Standard Newspaper, and the State Water Board, all located in Jos.