Nobel Peace Prize awarded to journalists who champion freedom of press

Democracy Forum at the Ateneo Law School in Makati on February 12, 2018. Photo by LeAnne Jazul/Rappler

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to two journalists who have championed press freedom against authoritarian regimes.

Maria Ressa is a leading reporter in the Philippines who has been previously honoured for fighting disinformation and attacks on the free press.

Dmitry Muratov is editor-in-chief of Novaya Gazeta, an independent newspaper in Russia that has run investigations on corruption, human rights violations and abuse of power.

The award is intended to honour an individual or organization that has “done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations.”

This year’s favourites had included the World Health Organisation (WHO) for its work combating COVID; Greta Thunberg for her climate change advocacy; and the imprisoned Putin critic Alexei Navalny.

Last year it was given to the World Food Programme (WFP) “for its efforts to combat hunger… its contribution to bettering conditions for peace in conflict-affected areas.”

Get more stories like this on Twitter and Telegram

Recommended Stories