Kaduna council poll: APC claims three chairmanship seats

A suppoter tries to display All Progressives Congress (APC) party flag on a pole, during incumbent President Mohammadu Buhari's presidential campaign rally at the Sanni Abacha Stadium in Kano, on January 31, 2019. - Buhari has flag off campaign in Kano, the commercial nerve centre of northern Nigeria to seek re-election at the forthcoming February polls. (Photo by PIUS UTOMI EKPEI / AFP) (Photo credit should read PIUS UTOMI EKPEI/AFP via Getty Images)

Alhaji Abubakar Buba of the All Progressives Congress has been declared winner of the Lere local council chairmanship seat in Saturday’s Kaduna State local government councils poll.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Dauda Ishaya, of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, announced the results in Saminaka on Sunday.

Ishaya said Buba scored 36, 389 votes to defeat Dalhat Abu-Dadda’i of the Peoples Democratic Party, who scored 24,294 votes.

Newsmen report that Alhaji Idris Ibrahim of the APC was also declared winner of the Zaria local council chairmanship seat.

Ibrahim scored 34,006 votes to defeat his closest contender, Alhaji Yusuf Sambo of the PDP, who polled 14,019 votes.

In Sabon Gari LGA, Alhaji Mohammed Usman of APC was declared winner, after scoring 32,405 votes to defeat his closest rival, Alhaji Abdu Bello of PDP, who scored 13,777 votes.

Get more stories like this on Twitter and Telegram

Recommended Stories