Edo governor finally appoints commissioners

Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State on Sunday spoke about his biggest fear after leaving office.

Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State has finally appointed commissioners.

Since he was reelected in November, Obaseki has been running the government without a cabinet.

This had attracted criticism but the governor defended his action, saying he was taking his time.

On Tuesday, Osarodion Ogie, Secretary to the State Government, announced the names of the newly appointed commissioners.

He said their appointments were subject to the approval of the Edo State House of Assembly.

The appointees are Oluwole Osamudiamen Iyamu, Obehi Akoria, Dr Joan Osa Oviawe, Osaze Ethan Uzamere, Monday Osaigbovo, Marie Edeko, Joseph Eboigbe, Moses Agbukor, Isoken Omo, Andrew Emwanta and Otse Momoh-Omorogbe.

Four of the nominees – Osagbovo, Edeko, Momoh-Omorogbe and Agbukor served as commissioners in Obaseki’s first term.

Osaigbovo served in the ministry of Local government and chieftaincy affairs, Edeko, ministry of women affairs and social development, Momoh-Omorogbe. budget and economy while Agbukor is the immediate past commissioner for energy and water resources.

Also, Isoken Omo is the Executive Chairman, Edo State Property Development Agency while Dr Joan Osa Oviawe is the Executive Chairman, Edo State Universal Basic Education Board.

The governor also reappointed Crusoe Osagie, his spokesman.

Ajose-Adeogun was appointed Special Adviser, Strategy, Policy, Projects and Performance Management.

Get more stories like this on Twitter and Telegram

Recommended Stories