Governor Godwin Obaseki

Governor Godwin Obaseki has won in Orhionwmwon, the local government of his main challenger, Osagie Ize-Iyamu, of the All Progressive Congress (APC).

Newsmen reported how Ize-Iyamu voted at his PU 26, Ward 5, Iguododo, Orhionmwon Local Government Area, on Saturday morning and won his polling unit.

However, Ize-Iyamu and the APC polled 10,458 votes in the whole local government to lose to Mr Obaseki and the PDP who polled 13,445 votes, according to the result announced by INEC Sunday afternoon.

The two men alongside 12 other candidates are taking part in the governorship election held across the 18 local governments in the state.

Orhionwmwon was the 17th local government result announced by INEC at the state collation centre in Benin. Only one local government result was being expected at the time of this report with Obaseki taking an unassailable lead.

Get more stories like this on Twitter

AD: To get thousands of free final year project topics and other project materials sorted by subject to help with your research [click here]

More Stories