Congress: Oyo APC leaders propose new zoning template

A suppoter tries to display All Progressives Congress (APC) party flag on a pole, during incumbent President Mohammadu Buhari's presidential campaign rally at the Sanni Abacha Stadium in Kano, on January 31, 2019. - Buhari has flag off campaign in Kano, the commercial nerve centre of northern Nigeria to seek re-election at the forthcoming February polls. (Photo by PIUS UTOMI EKPEI / AFP) (Photo credit should read PIUS UTOMI EKPEI/AFP via Getty Images)

Barely four days to the conduct of the State Congresses of the All Progressives Congress nationwide, leaders of the party in Oyo State have proposed new zoning template, suggesting that the state chairmanship be zoned to Oke-Ogun Zone 1.

This was contained in a communique issued after a stakeholders’ meeting held on Wednesday in Ibadan.

The meeting was held at the residence of former Governor Chief Adebayo Alao-Akala.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that Alao-Akala; Chief Akin Oke, the outgoing State Chairman; and seven party zonal leaders had been mandated by the stakeholders to meet on the zoning template.

The leaders were mandated to work out the modalities and produce a final document that would accommodate all interests in the October 16 state congress of the party.

They proposed the new sharing formula, having considered that all gladiators and party faithful should go into the state congress as a united team of democrats.

According to the communique, Oke-Ogun Zone 1 would produce the new state chairman of the party, while Ibarapa Zone will produce the State Deputy Chairman.

According to resolution of the meeting, Oke-Ogun 1 is also to produce the Senatorial Youth Leader, Assistant Financial Secretary and Assistant Welfare Officer.

Oke-Ogun 2 will produce State Organising Secretary, State Legal Adviser, Deputy Youth Leader (North), Senatorial Woman Leader, Deputy State Women Leader and an ex-Officio.

Ogbomoso Zones will produce State Youth Leader, State Financial Secretary, Senatorial Chairman, State Assistant Auditor, Senatorial Women Leader and Ex Officio.

The party leaders zoned the State Secretary, State Auditor, Assistant Organising Secretary and Assistant Publicity Secretary to Oyo Zone.

Ibarapa zone of the state would produce the Deputy State Chairman, State Welfare Officer, Senatorial Youth Leader (South) and Assistant Treasurer.

The leaders agreed that Ibadan City would produce State Woman Leader, Deputy Secretary, Physically Challenged, Senatorial Chairman, Senatorial Woman Leader and ex-Officio.

Ibadan Less City would produce the Treasurer, Publicity Secretary, Oyo Central Senatorial Chairman, Assistant legal Adviser, Senatorial Youth Leader and ex-Officio.

The leaders also resolved that all elective positions, especially governor, deputy governor and Senators, in the 2023 general election are open to all the 33 local government areas of the state.

The communique said the new zoning template to produce state executive of the party on October 16 was signed by all the leaders.

Among those present at the meeting were: Alao-Akala, Oke, Chief Moses Adeyemo (former Deputy Governor), Chief Samuel Adekola and Alhaji Abu Gbadamosi.

Others were: Asimiyu Alarape, Chief Timothy Jolaoso, Chief Kunle Sanda and Mogaji Banji Olorode.

Get more stories like this on Twitter and Telegram

Recommended Stories