Chris Alao-Akala: PDP disappointing, Oyo people want APC back in power

Christopher Adebayo Alao-Akala

Former governor of Oyo State, Chief Adebayo Alao-Akala, has harped on the imperativeness of strengthening the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the state, positing that the people of the state are desperately waiting for the APC to claim governorship of the state again.

Speaking during a well-attended stakeholders’ meeting held at Lafia Hotel, Ibadan, on Monday, Alao-Akala said peoples yearn for APC to return to power is because of the many disappointments suffered in the last two years of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) led administration in the state.

He charged leaders, chieftains and members of the party to unite and cooperate among themselves so as to justify the confidence and trust reposed in the party by the people of the state.

In driving towards the goal of winning governorship again, Alao-Akala said unity, trust and hardwork were important.

This is just as he sued for peace and understanding among gladiators of the party and their supporters.

He, especially, charged members of the party, across all levels, to go to their individual wards and actively participate in the APC Ward Congress scheduled to commence on July 24.

Alao-Akala said, “The good people of the state are expecting much from us in APC as they can’t wait to have us in power again following the many disappointments they have got in the hands of the present PDP administration.

“Therefore, all hands must be on deck to justify the confidence reposed in us. All we are asking all leaders, chieftains and members to do is to cooperate among themselves and fashion out acceptable modalities with which we could achieve the desired success at the end of the day.

“As you have heard from Chief Oke, let us all go to our individual wards and participate in the exercise as mature minds and democrats which we are.”

Caretaker Chairman, Oyo APC, Chief Akin Oke, had earlier cautioned members against undemocratic conduct before, during and after the forthcoming congresses.

Oke was quoted by his Personal Assistant (Media), Mr Olawale Sadare as enjoining party members to fully adhere to guidelines from the national secretariat of the party on the conduct of congresses.

Oke stressed that such adherence will solidify the confidence of all party members and pave way for unity and harmony in the party after the congress.

He also charged party members to remain focused and accommodate one another without any recourse to whatever they might have experienced in the party, in the past.

“We are fascinated by the turn out of critical stakeholders and the calibre of party stalwarts in this all-important meeting which was organized to enable us to forge a common front ahead of the forthcoming Congresses of our great Party.

“I am therefore using this opportunity to assure all party faithful of transparency and fairness in the conduct of the Congresses which we intend to use as a threshold for us to reclaim power in 2023. Now is the time for everyone to go to their Wards and sort things out democratically and harmoniously.” Oke said.

The meeting saw members of the Oyo APC unanimously commit to peace, harmony, collaboration, fairness and adherence to the laid down guidelines of the party in its forthcoming congresses.

The meeting saw former Minister of Communications, Barrister Adebayo Shittu; Chief Kazeem Raji and Honourable Isiaka Kazeem speak in support of the motion moved by the party chairman that stakeholders in each of the 351 Wards across the state be permitted to sort out things in relation to the planned July 24 Congresses at the Ward level.

Stakeholders at the meeting included the Honourable Minister of Sports and Youth Development, Chief Sunday Dare; Chief Iyiola Oladokun; Chief Moses Alake-Adeyemo; Senator AbdulFatai Buhari; Senator Ayoade Adeseun; Senator Olufemi Lanlehin; Senator Adesoji Akanbi; Chief Sarafadeen Abiodun Alli; Professor Taoheed Adedoja; Professor Soji Adejumo; Alhaji Olalekan Alli; Honourable Segun Odebunmi; Honourable Akeem Adeyemi; Professor Adeolu Akande; Alh. Fatai Ibikunle; Chief Adebayo Adelabu; Chief Adeniyi Akintola (SAN) and Engineer Joseph Tegbe.

Others are; Honourable Saheed Akinade-Fijabi; Honourable Dapo Lam-Adesina; Dr Olusola Ayandele; Barrister Akeem Agbaje; Dr Yunus Akintunde; Mr Mojeed Olaoya; Mr Bimbo Kolade; Prince Ayodeji Abass-Alesinloye; Mr Bimbo Adekanmbi; Engineer Idris Adeoye; Chief (Mrs) Ayoka Lawani; Honourable Folake Olunloyo-Osinowo; Honourable Olatubosun Oladele; Dr Isiaka Kolawole; Honourable Ayoade Ojoawo; Honourable Asimiyu Alarape; Honourable Wumi Oladeji; Alhaji Abu Gbadamosi; Engineer Faozey Nurudeen; Professor Adeniyi Olowofela; Honourable Abisoye Fagade; Pa Timothy Jolaoso; Chief Kunle Sanda; Alhaji Bashiru Ajibade; Chief Lekan Adeyemo; Alhaji Isiaka Alimi; Mrs Mabel Williams; Mrs Hannah Ogunesan; Mrs Yinka Adebayo among others.

Get more stories like this on Twitter and Telegram

Recommended Stories