Prince Kolawole reelected speaker of Kogi Assembly

Members of the Kogi State House of Assembly on Thursday reelected Prince Matthew Kolawole as the new speaker of the 7th Assembly.

Kolawole, the immediate speaker, represents Kabba/Bunu state constituency was returned unopposed.

He was nominated by Bello Hassan (Ajaokuta) and seconded by Momoh Rabiu (Ankpa II).

The race for the speakership had been between Kolawole and Jimoh Omiata (Yagba East). No other nomination was however made for the position.

Other principal officers include; Ahmed Muhammed (Deputy Speaker – Ankpa II); Hassan Bello (Majority Leader – Ajaokuta); Ndakwo Idris (Deputy Majority Leader – Lokoja II); Mourktar Bajen (Chief Whip – Okene II); and Ododo Moses (Deputy Chief Whip – Dekina II).

All the principal officers were elected unopposed.

Get more stories like this on Twitter and Telegram

Recommended Stories