Zenith Bank BetaLife
Zenith Bank BetaLife
Zenith Bank BetaLife
Zenith Bank BetaLife

The Federal Government will, on Monday, inaugurate the states selection committees for the special public works programme.

According to a statement from the Federal ministry of Labour and Employment, the committees will be inaugurated in Abuja by Festus Keyamo, the minister of state.

The special public works programme was approved by President Muhammadu Buhari as part of the fiscal stimulus measures in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

A total of 1,000 Nigerians from each of the 774 local government areas will be engaged in the programme implemented by the National Directorate of Employment (NDE).

Olua Davidson, a special adviser to Keyamo, said each of the committees will be made up of 20 members comprising a Chairman, Vice Chairman and NDE state coordinator who will serve as the secretary.

Other members are three representatives of traditional rulers from the three senatorial districts of the state, market women leader, state chairman of Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) and state chairman of Nigerian Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs in each state or their representatives.

Others include state chairman of the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), six representatives from three recognised youth organisations in that state, one representative from a recognised civil society organisation (CSO) and two representatives from institutions/stakeholders representing interests peculiar to each state.

The statement said the Chairmen, Vice-Chairmen and NDE state coordinators will join the inauguration virtually in line with COVID-19 guidelines.

Get more stories like this on Twitter

AD: To get thousands of free final year project topics and other project materials sorted by subject to help with your research [click here]

More Stories