ANA reelects Camillus Ukan as president

The Association of Nigerian Authors, the apex body of writers in the country, has reelected Camillus Ukah as president for the second term for the year 2021-2023.

The poll was held at the association’s Annual Business Meeting on November 6, 2021, at Mamman Vatsa Writers Village, Abuja.

A statement jointly signed by the duo of ANA Public Relations Officer, North, Yogiza Umar Jr, and ANA PRO, South, Isaiah Ebhodaghe, said ANA on Saturday returned Ukah for another two years term as its National President.

Ukah, Farida Muhammed, Maik Ortserga, Freeman Okosun, Chimankpa Ogbueri, Mathew Taiwo, Umar Yogiza Jr, Bentex Torlafia and Odono Mathew all retained their positions as President, Vice President, General Secretary, Financial Secretary, Auditor, PRO North, Legal Adviser and Ex-Officio 1 respectively of the association.

However, the positions of National Treasurer, PRO South and ex-officio were contested.

The result of the election produced Isaiah Ebhodaghe as National PRO South, Lois Otse Adams as National Treasurer, Wole Adedoyin and Greg Mbarjiorgu as ex-officio members.

Ukah, who emerged through a consensus arrangement, was returned with the majority of his 15 members’ EXCO unopposed.

While Addressing ANA Members and the newly elected NEC members after the conduct of the election, Prof. Idris Amali, Chairman of the Election Planning Committee, urged them not to be distracted by the antics of some miscreants who tried to scuttle the convention, noting that the consensus arrangement showed ANA was very united.

Speaking after the election, which was done through an affirmative vote, Ukah thanked ANA members, Board of Trustees, Advisory Council and ANA Elders for the role they played towards ensuring peace and unity in the association.

He also assured that his leadership would provide a level playing field for all members to participate actively for the general good of the association.

The election, which was conducted by a committee led by Amali as Chairman, had Miesoinum Minima as Secretary and Prof. May Nwoye as Member.

Get more stories like this on Twitter and Telegram

Recommended Stories